This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.

A Beginner’s Guide to the 12 Houses In Astrology

INSIDE: Astrology is a vast and intriguing world of cosmic knowledge. When we go beyond the zodiac signs and gain an understanding of things like the 12 houses in astrology, our journey of self-discovery becomes much more enlightened.


Astrology gives us a deeper understanding of everything from our past, our present, and our future.

Our date of birth determines our zodiac sign, and just by the position of celestial objects at the time we are born, each sign determines our personality, likes, dislikes, and so much more.

Astrology has a long history in almost every culture. This age-old knowledge has been widespread throughout the world and is still popular to this day, arguably now more than ever.

We’re checking our horoscopes everyday, keeping up to date with current transits through popular apps like Co-Star, and there’s a whole new wave of millennial astrologers taking the social media world by storm. 

Zodiac Signs In Astrology

The 12 different zodiac signs in astrology are composed of:

If you’re reading this article, you probably already know that astrology is so much more than just your sun sign.

So we’re going to cut the recap short and get right to the point you’re here for...

Let's learn what the 12 houses in astrology are and how they affect our lives.

Zodiac Stones

The 12 Houses in Astrology

Apart from the 12 zodiac signs, there are also 12 houses in astrology, each of which are ruled by one zodiac sign.

The houses begin from House 1 and go clockwise towards house 12, composing an entire wheel of the astrology 12 houses.

These houses all depend on location and time, rather than the date.

When you go to an astrologer, they interpret your chart by blending each planet’s meaning, the house that it is in, and the sign it has. That’s how they predict your horoscope. 

What The 12 Houses in Astrology Represent

Now, let's dig in to each of the houses in more detail...

1st House in Astrology: Ruled by Aries

The first house in astrology is where your rising sign or ascendant lives. It is correspondingly all about "first."

These firsts include: first impressions, new initiatives, new appearances, and new beginnings, as well as the body, attitude, identity, and approach to life.

2nd House in Astrology: Ruled by Taurus 

The second house in astrology is all about your physical and material surroundings.

This includes your 5 senses: taste, touch, smell, sight, and sound. It also determines your work and work ethic, income, and daily routines.

How an Astrologer Predicts Your Horoscope

3rd House in Astrology: Ruled by Gemini

The third house is all about communication and thinking.

It determines how you will socially interact, communicate, and talk, relating to your thoughts and perceptions.

It also covers matters such as your school, siblings, neighborhood, gadgets, and early education.

4th House in Astrology: Ruled by Cancer

The fourth house in astrology relates to the foundation of all things, like family, home, privacy, emotions, and parents (more specifically, the mother).

It gives insight into your mother as well your own motherly instincts, leading into children and your own childhood.

5th House in Astrology: Ruled by Leo 

Out of all 12 houses in astrology, the fifth house is the one that is concerned with self-expression. 

It also covers drama, romance, love, play creativity, child-like expressions, and affairs.

What Crystal is Best for Me Quiz

6th House in Astrology: Ruled by Virgo

The sixth house is all about health.

It is concerned with organization, immunity, healthy living, schedules, exercise, diet, and routines.

7th House in Astrology: Ruled by Libra

The seventh house is the domain of all relationships, both personal and private. 

It deals with business contracts, interpersonal style, equality, sharing, and marriages. 

8th House in Astrology: Ruled by Scorpio

The eighth house in astrology marks mystery, birth, death, and intimacy.

It concerns shared finances and your partner's resources too. It is also the domain of taxes, inheritance, investments, and loans. 

 9th House in Astrology: Ruled by Sagittarius

The ninth house is all about higher consciousness and expansions.

It marks foreign languages, travel, international and national growth, inspiration, optimism, publishing, and broadcasting. It also determines luck, higher education, gambling, religion, and moral philosophies.

Astrology 12 Houses

10th House in Astrology: Ruled by Capricorn

The tenth house is situated at the top of the chart, marking structures, corporations, traditions, public reputation, and fame.

It also governs achievements, boundaries, discipline, and authority. Similarly, it is related to fatherhood and provides a deeper understanding of your own father.

The tenth house is also known as the “midheaven” and can give you great insight about your career path.

11th House in Astrology: Ruled by Aquarius

The eleventh house in astrology is all about teams and friendships.

It determines your social groups, including technology and media. It also governs humanitarian causes, such as social justice and sudden events.

This house also relates to invention, astronomy, science, and all things avant garde. 

12th House in Astrology: Ruled by Pisces

The twelfth house out of the houses in astrology is the domain of arts and creativity, while simultaneously ruling endings. 

This is all about the final stages, completion, and tying up loose ends. It marks the afterlife, as well as social isolation, relating to old age and confinement, like hospitals, jails, and retirement homes.

Final Thoughts

Now you know all about the 12 houses in astrology. Different zodiac signs mark each of these houses, with each house governing different aspects of your life.

Where one is the domain of beginners, the other speaks of endings. Where one rules our relations and emotions, the other house marks our growth and achievements.

Understanding the 12 houses provides us with an intriguing and never-ending quest into ourselves.

Amethyst Geodes

* Crystals and stones should not be used as a substitute for medical advice or treatment. Please read our full disclaimer notice here.

12 Houses in Astrology

Astrology 12 Houses

12 Houses Astrology

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published


No more products available for purchase

Your cart is currently empty.